Music Monday

What your TRW staffers are listening to this week:

photo1

I love Lady Gaga. Judge me.

I think she’s fantastic. For one, homegirl can sing. Seriously. Youtube her and you’ll find her acoustic sets. She has a fabulous cover of Coldplay’s “Viva la Vida.” It’s amazing. Also, she writes most of her own stuff. She also writes for a bunch not-as-awesome artists.

Also, have you seen the way she dresses? Yeah. ‘Nuff said.

-B. Schmidt

photo

iTunes Free Single of the Week is a beautiful thing. I download it every week. What do you have to lose? If you don’t like it, delete it. I promise you won’t delet this one. La Roux’s electronic, dance-worthy single “Bulletproof” is a fun mix of techno beats and synthesizers. I’m looking forward to listening to more of her stuff. Also, iTunes doesn’t change the Free Single until Tuesday so go download this today for FREE!

-Le Chev

kylie

As much as I’ve MM’d Ingrid Michaelson lately, Ben Folds is and always will be my favorite musician. I mean, he’s incredibly talented, amazing in concert, and hilarious. What more can you ask for?

I chose “Kylie from Connecticut” from Way to Normal (yes, the deluxe version) as an accompaniment to my UnCowgirl post for today. It’s all about failed relationships, the past, what love really is or isn’t – all things we worry about. It’s a sad song, but both the music and lyrics hearken back to “the old Ben Folds music” of just Ben and the piano.

It may have been out for a while, but his newest CD is worth your time and your money. Most of it is an evolution of his style into a more “pop” sound, but that doesn’t mean it’s not worth a listen. The lyrics, however disguised you might find them, still strike your heart with the same strength as did “Philosophy,” “Video,” or any of the older stuff.

Yours always,
KM

1 Comment

Filed under Entertainment, Music

One response to “Music Monday

  1. JC

    Le Chev — I totally agree. I dig “Bulletproof.” Last week though was less than thrilling — KSM “Read Between the Lines.” Boo.

    I have been obsessed with Tegan and Sara’s new song, “Feel It In My Bones,” and also “Sit Down By the Fire” by The Veils. Oh, and “Home” by Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros. I’ve been listening to Sirius XM U a lot, and I loveee it.

Leave a Reply

