Bond in the Boot

Before I get into my review, let me reiterate that “Bones” is my favorite show. I love it.

That having been said, the writing on this show is extremely hit-or-miss. I think last night’s episode was closer to the miss end of the spectrum.

This wasn’t may favorite episode. But then again, I’m not a James Bond fan at all. But you know who I am a fan of? Michael Grant Terry, aka my favorite intern, Wendell Bray.

Screen shot 2009-09-25 at 16.11.28

Boy is fiiiine…

Anyway, last night we almost lost Wendell to the economic crisis. Thankfully, his scholarship was saved by a few anonymous donations. (I will admit that I shed a tear at the end when he was almost let go.)

But back to the Bond-esque case. Today’s gross body was found in a long-term parking garage by the airport, covered in cats:

I like cats, but goddamn.

I like cats, but goddamn.

Once the evidence is analyzed, they discover he’s not just a Russian courier, but possibly a spy. Cue the State Department:

Screen shot 2009-09-25 at 16.07.42

Homeboy reminds me a bit of George from “Grey’s Anatomy.”

The rest of the episode can be summed up with this picture:

spy-vs-spy_tofu_prv_2

The best scene is at the very end.

At Sweets’ suggestion, Brennan asks Booth to teach her how to do some basic plumbing, because teaching Brennan will make Booth more confident and secure with the fact that Brennan makes oodles of money.

The scene — and plumbing in general — is, of course, riddled with innuendo and metaphor, along with classic “Bones” sexual tension:

Screen shot 2009-09-25 at 16.02.47

Screen shot 2009-09-25 at 16.03.07

Screen shot 2009-09-25 at 16.03.56

Screen shot 2009-09-25 at 16.04.05

Because a pipe bursting with liquid couldn’t be a metaphor for anything….

The episode ranked a good 3 out of a possible 5 for me. I would have like to have known why the crime was committed, rather than just by whom.

But next week’s preview looks good. It’s about Amish people. I always love Brennan’s… observations? about religion. (Probably because I mostly agree with her.) I have high hopes for this one. And hopefully Hogins and Angela’s relationship will be touched upon. Because them acting like absolutely nothing happened is such bullshit.

-B. Schmidt

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment, TV

Leave a Reply

