Sarah Failin

Gag me

Gag me

I’ve been asked several times in the past few days why I follow Sarah Palin on Facebook. I want to clear that up once and for all:

I only follow Sarah Palin on Facebook so I can see when she someone her publicists hired writes batshit insane Facebook notes.

There. I hope that clears things up.

Anway, I was rewarded yesterday with this:

“‘The Constitution of the United States was created by the people of the United States composing the respective states, who alone had the right.’- James Madison

Today marks the 222nd anniversary of the formation and signing of our Constitution. The United States Constitution is one of the greatest founding documents in history because it charted a bold new path in the realm of political theory. Not only does the Constitution establish checks and balances within the federal government, it also divides power among the federal government, the states, and the people. The Founders understood that it is the nature of government to grow at the expense of the people’s liberty; and with that in mind, they established a form of government that would be limited in scope and power in order to maximize power to the people.

Today, let’s also take the opportunity to thank our armed forces. The weight of defending our liberty rests on their shoulders, and because of their efforts and sacrifice, we can celebrate the 222nd anniversary of the formation of our Constitution.

– Sarah Palin”

Yes, I get supporting the military and all*, but I don’t think SPalin has read the Constitution. If she had, she would realize the only time the armed forces have directly fought for those rights was in the Civil War. (The Constitution wasn’t around for the war against the British for independence.)

What do I mean by this? Well, look at the Constitution. To whom does the Constitution guarantee certain rights? US citizens. From whom do we get those rights? The US government.

I have to call into question the belief that any war fought on foreign soil (read: most of them) is still a war for our rights and freedoms. How? How is a war in the Middle East, against people with loosely organized “armies,” with technology years behind us and without the capabilities to launch large attacks here in the US fighting for our freedom? I mean, I can understand WWII being a valid concern because of the Nazis and their sophisticated battle techniques and sheer numbers, but even then the US wasn’t one of their main targets (yet). In fact, we were pretty much cool with Hitler killing Jews until Japan decided to join the party in Hawaii.

Basically, I think we use patriotism to justify/cover up too much. Don’t agree with the war? Well, you’re unpatriotic and hate America! No, I’m just logical and rational and realize what we’re doing and why we’re doing it don’t add up. I refuse to apologize for approaching this topic with intelligence and not blind devotion to the idea of American supremacy.

-B. Schmidt

*Before you scream about how unpatriotic I am and how I don’t support the military, just know that my uncle has served five times in Iraq. I know how it works and what it does to families. Thanks, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under News, Politics

Leave a Reply

